Black Goat Motorcycle Club by Jason Murphy (Book Review)

Black Goat Motorcycle Club by Jason Murphy (Sinister Grin Press)

I first came across Jason Murphy through the Sinister Grin Press anthology FRESH MEAT. This anthology of terror from seven different writers was a particular highlight from last year’s reading. His story HOMONCULUS was gruesome reading and highly original. It was my favourite story from the anthology and I was looking forward to reading more from Mr Murphy. As it turns out I haven’t had to wait too long. BLACK GOAT MOTORCYCLE CLUB is going to be featured in my top ten reads at the end of the year! I absolutely loved this book. It is quite a big book, but I had no problems at all in devouring the pages. In fact I started and finished it in the same day, and let me tell you it has been some time since I did this! The pacing of this novel is incredible. I had a vague idea of what the story was about. Without giving too much away, all I will say is that this novel reads like a cross between Tarantino’s FROM DUSK TILL DAWN mixed up with a bit of Carpenter’s ASSAULT ON PRECINCT 13! It is foot on the gas, peddle to the metal horror treat!

Unlike some novels, Murphy doesn’t waste time by spending the first half of the book building up his characters and indulging in descriptions of the scenery, that isn’t to say the characters, are two dimensional. On the contrary, they are very real and all of them have their own problems/demons. The main characters are each given their own personalities. You probably won’t like them all, but that’s ok because not all of them will make it anyway. The characters are soon faced with a very serious situation within the first quarter of the book and things continue to escalate from there. The M.C. is a ruthless bunch and they hide a very dark secret. Why are they searching for a man claiming to be an FBI agent? And what is in the crate with the chains on?

During the story our motley crew of locals are assisted by someone in their fight against the M.C. A surprising ally is unleashed and blood rains from the skies. I won’t say any more about this character because it will spoil it, but what a great twist in the tale!

BLACK GOAT MOTORCYCLE CLUB is a fantastic book. In case you didn’t guess, I bloody loved it. This needs to be a movie. I am giving it my highest recommendation. I cannot wait to read more from Jason Murphy. Brilliant! (Adrian Shotbolt)

Black Goat MC cover

About jackbantry

Jack Bantry is the editor of Splatterpunk Zine. He works as a postman and resides in a small town at the edge of the North York Moors.
This entry was posted in horror and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Black Goat Motorcycle Club by Jason Murphy (Book Review)

  1. adishotbolt says:

    Reblogged this on Beavisthebookhead and commented:
    I wrote this guest review for the excellent Splatterpunk Magazine run by Jack Bantry. It’s my favourite book of 2016, so far. Read my review then go snag yourself a copy.

Leave a Reply

