DARK MUSING’S by Xtina Marie (Book Review)

DARK MUSING’S by Xtina Marie (Fat Lip Press)

I don’t read as much poetry as I should. Yes I am one of THOSE people. I enjoy well written poetry, while being admittedly bad at writing it, but I just don’t seek it out. After reading Xtina Marie’s DARK MUSING’S, I will now make an effort to remedy my reading habits.  Not to mention my reviewing habits… I can’t just tell people what a poem is about like I can with a book. There is no plot, no characters, no back story, just emotions translated into words and mixed with a little blood and dead tree pulp.

Xtina reaches deep into the darkness that hides all of our most powerful emotions, blisters of devastating rage, and sadness seeping with the insanity of a twisted psyche.  She writes dark, soulful poetry and puts her readers on an emotional ladder, only to take an axe to that ladder and gleefully hack away as she watches the reader hang on for dear life.  Many of the poems speak on their own merit, but a few of my favorites were; “Diseased”, “My Dear”, and “The Middle of Darkness”.  When you put the book down to allow the words you’ve read to sink in, the author has done justice to those words, and I found myself doing so often through her book.

She writes the kind of poetry that speaks to people, reaches out to them, and I’m sure, for some, her words will carry them from those dark bridges and give them hope in the realization that they are not alone.  Poetry is not about entertaining, it is about cutting yourself open and watching the words that form on paper as the blood runs out.

Lyrical darkness written with a sharpened pen and a wicked mind, Xtina is waiting, in the darkness and she will cut you. I promise, you’ll love every minute of it. (Cory Cline)

xtina

About jackbantry

Jack Bantry is the editor of Splatterpunk Zine. He works as a postman and resides in a small town at the edge of the North York Moors.
This entry was posted in horror, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

